Intent to Participate




About the Conference
General Information
Events & Tours
Technical Symposia
Information for Authors/Speakers
Technical Symposia
Paper Submission
ACCESS '06 Executive
Business Forum
Design & Developers Forum
Tutorials and Workshops
Conference Program
Visa Assistance


Advanced Technologies & Protocols for Optical Networks

Maurice Gagnaire, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications, gagnaire@enst.fr
Nasir Ghani, Tennessee Tech University, nghani@tntech.edu
Vice Chair:
Suresh Subramaniam, George Washington University, suresh@gwu.edu

This symposium seeks to showcase the latest developments in key open areas of optical communication networks and emergent service paradigms. In particular, one of the major themes will be on vertical and horizontal integration. For example, the former entails issues such as Ethernet-optical internetworking, SONET/SDH-DWDM multi-granularity grooming, traffic engineering, application-layer optimization, etc.  Meanwhile, the latter covers topics such as multi-domain interworking and grooming, hybrid wireless-optical interworking, etc.  The symposium will consist of peer-reviewed research papers as well as informative tutorials and workshop offerings from leading luminaries in the field. Moreover, broad-based participation is envisioned from academia, governmental institutions, and industry-both service providers and equipment vendors alike. Some of the key focus areas include (but are not necessarily limited to) the following:

Topics of Interest

•   Routing and wavelength assignment
•   Dynamic ligthpath re-routing
•   Extension of the GMPLS control plane to multi-domain
•   Traffic grooming and traffic engineering
•   Free space optical networks
•   Multicasting in optical networks
•   Optical Packet Switching (OPS)
•   Optical Burst Switching (OBS)
•   Single layer and multi-layer protection and restoration
•   Network availability evaluation
•   Optical switches architecture and performance
•   Point-to-multipoint optical access network architectures: PON, APON, BPON, GPON, EPON
•   Traffic management/quality of service in passive optical access networks
•   Optical network experiments: demonstrations, test beds and field trials
•   Signaling and monitoring in optical networks
•   Impact of the physical-layer impairments on optical network design and traffic engineering
•   Horizontal integration: multi-area optical communications, Path Computing Element
•   Vertical integration: multi-granularity switching
•   Innovative and flexible passive WDM optical access network architectures
•   Hybrid wireless-optical metro/access networks
•   Traffic engineering for NG-SONET/SDH and MSPP
•   Optical Ethernet and new service paradigms
•   Layer 1 virtual private networks (L1 VPN) architectures and design
•   Value analysis of different network architectures and business cases
•   Optical virtual private networks
•   Innovative services: grid computing, storage area networking, utility computing
•   Standardization issues


Technical Program Committee 

Ala  Al-fuqaha, Western Michigan University
Mohamed Ali,
City University of New York
Vishal Anand, State
University of New York at Brockport
Chadi Assi, Concordia
Driss Benhaddou,
University of Houston
Maite Brandt-Pearce,
University of Virginia
Franco Callegati, Universita` di Bologna
Xiaojun Cao, Rochester Institute of Technology
Xiaowen Chu,
Hong Kong Baptist University
Tibor Cinkler,
Budapest Universityof Technology and Economics
Rudra Dutta, North Carolina State University
Tarek El-Bawab,
Jackson State University
Georgios Ellinas, University of Cyprus
Andrea Fumagalli,
University of Texas Dallas
Maurice Gagnaire, ENST Paris
Christoph Gauger,
University of Stuttgart
Nasir Ghani, Tennessee Technological University
Ashwin Gumaste, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay/University of
Texas at Dallas
Mohan Gurusamy,
National University of Singapore
Pin-Han Ho,
of Waterloo
Monika Jäger, T-Systems
Jason Jue, University of Texas-Dallas
Admela Jukan,
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Ahmed Kamal,
Iowa State University
Ezhan Karasan, Bilkent University
Ahmad Khalil,
City University of New York

Ken'ichi Kitayama,
Osaka University
Olufemi Komolafe,
University of Glasgow
Maode Ma, Nanyang Technological University
Martin Maier, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS)
Wai Pang Ng , Northumbria University
Mario Pickavet,
Ghent University
Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
George Rouskas,
North Carolina State University
Galen Sasaki,
University of Hawaii

Dominic Schupke, Siemens
Arunabha Sen,
Arizona State University
Abdallah Shami, The
University of Western Ontario
Vishal Sharma, Metanoia, Inc
Dimitra Simeonidou,
University of Essex
Krishna Sivalingam, University of Maryland , Baltimore County
Arun Somani, Iowa State University
Suresh Subramaniam, The George Washington University
Marco Tacca, University of Texas at Dallas
Ioannis Tomkos, Athens Institute of Technology
Anna Tzanakaki, Athens Institute of Technology
Kyriakos Vlachos,
University of Patras

Vinod Vokkarane,
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Chunsheng Xin, Norfolk State University
Guoliang Xue, Arizona State University
Yuanyuan Yang,  State University of New York at Stony Brook
Jun Zheng, University of Ottawa
Si-Qing Zheng, University of Texas at Dallas
Luying Zhou, Institute for Infocomm Research


Early Registration:
30 October

Hotel Reservation Deadline:
3 November