Intent to Participate




About the Conference
General Information
Events & Tours
Technical Symposia
Information for Authors/Speakers
Technical Symposia
Paper Submission
ACCESS '06 Executive
Business Forum
Design & Developers Forum
Tutorials and Workshops
Conference Program
Visa Assistance


Communication Theory Symposium

Symposium Chairs
Hamid Jafarkhani, University of California, Irvine, hamidj@uci.edu
Erchin Serpedin, Texas A&M University, College Station, serpedin@ee.tamu.edu

The IEEE GLOBECOM 2006 Communication Theory Symposium will be held in San Francisco, California.   This symposium welcomes original papers dealing with analytical, theoretical, simulation, experimental, and practical aspects   of many diverse areas in communication that include but are not restricted to modulation, coding, synchronization, equalization, signal processing for communications (interference cancellation, array signal processing), transmission over all media (copper, coax, fiber, wireless, satellite, deep space, storage and biological channels),   source coding (lossless and lossy source compression, speech, audio, image and video coding), spread spectrum, multiple access, data communications, multimedia   transmission, information theory, and communication networks.

For details about submission deadline, paper format, and on-line submission procedure please see the main GLOBECOM 2006 page.

Topics of interest:
• Modulation and signal design
• Channel coding
• Space-time processing and coding
• Codes and graphs and iterative decoding
• Turbo detection algorithms
• Multiple access techniques
• Diversity techniques
• Information-theoretical techniques applied to digital communication
• Cross-layer design and systems joint source-channel coding
• Network coding
• Adaptive coding and modulation
• MIMO systems
• CDMA, TDMA & OFDM air interfaces
• Ultra-wideband communications
• OFDM techniques
• Coding and signal processing for recording systems
• Detection and Estimation Theory
• Interference avoidance and cancellation
• Synchronization, and equalization
• Multi-user detection theory and applications
• Smart antenna technologies
• Channel modeling
• Fading channels propagation and system performance
• Resource allocation and interference management
• Software defined radio
• Implementation aspects of advanced receivers
• Ad hoc and sensor networks
• Power line communication
• Coding and signal processing for optical communication systems

Technical Program Committee (in alphabetical order)

Mohamed-Slim Alouini, University of Minnesota
Sonia Aissa,
University of Quebec

Jeff Andrews,
University of Texas at Austin
Greg Bottomley, Eriksson
Biao Chen,
Syracuse University.
Marco Chiani, Unibo
Paul Cotae, UT San Antonio
Robert Shuguang Cui, University
of Arizona
Huaiyu Dai, NC State University
Tolga Duman , Arizona State University
Elza Erkip, Polytehnic University
Jamie Evans,
University of Melbourne
Javier Garcia-Frias, University of Delaware
David Gesbert, Eurecom
Dennis Goeckel,
University of Massachusetts
Robert Heath,
University of Texas at Austin
Brian Hughes, North Carolina State University
D. Mihai Ionescu, Nokia
Syed Ali Jafar, UC Irvine
Hamid Jafarkhani (co-chair), UC Irvine
Nihar Jindal,
University of Minnesota
Mehmet Keskinoz, Sabanci University
Erik Larsson, Royal Inst. of Technology
Geert Leus,
Delft University .
Tiffany J. Li,
Lehigh University
David Love,
Purdue University
Xiaoli Ma , Georgia Tech
Hlaing Minn, University of Texas at Dallas

Michele Morelli, University of Pisa
Robert Morelos-Zaragoza, San Jose St. U.
Rohit Negi,
Carnegie-Melon University
Aria Nosratinia , UT Dallas
Masoud Olfat, University of Maryland
Dimitrie Popescu , UT San Antonio

Lijun Qian, TAMU Prairie View
Daryl Reynolds,
West Virginia University
Erchin Serpedin (co-chair), Texas A&M University
Predrag Spasojevic,
Rutgers University
Oguz Sunay, Koc University
Lee Swindlehurst, B. Young Univ.
Cihan Tepedelenlioglu, Arizona State University
Torlak , UT Dallas
Uf Tureli, Stevens Institute of  Technology
Sennur Ulukus, University of

Murat Uysal, University of Waterloo
Adriaan van Wijngaarden, Bell Labs
Giorgio Vitetta,
University of Modena
Sriram Vishwanath, UT Austin
Liuqing Yang, University of Florida

Chengshan Xiao, University of
Zhengdao Wang, Iowa State University
Yik-Chung Wu, Thompson
Zhiyuan Yan,
Lehigh University
Liuqing Yang,
University of Florida
Aylin Yener , Pennsylvania State University
Homayoun Yousefi'zadeh, UC Irvine
Shengli Zhou,
of Connecticut



Early Registration:
30 October

Hotel Reservation Deadline:
3 November