Intent to Participate




About the Conference
General Information
Events & Tours
Technical Symposia
Information for Authors/Speakers
Technical Symposia
Paper Submission
ACCESS '06 Executive
Business Forum
Design & Developers Forum
Tutorials and Workshops
Conference Program
Visa Assistance


Multimedia Communications

Symposium Co-Chairs
Gary Chan (gchan@cs.ust.hk)
Pascal Frossard (pascal.frossard@epfl.ch)



Papers offering novel research contributions in any aspect of Multimedia Communications, Services and Networking are solicited for submission to the Globecom2006 Multimedia Communications Symposium. Papers may present theories, techniques, applications, or practical experiences on topics including but not limited to the following tracks.

Topics of Interest:

  • Media streaming and real-time delivery
    • Techniques and architectures for streaming media and IP telephony
    • Joint source and channel coding and error control schemes
    • Scalability and transcoding technologies for heterogeneous networks
    • Multimedia delivery to wireless embedded devices
    • Cross protocol layer design and optimizations
  • Mobile multimedia communications
    • Cross-layer design for multimedia communication
    • Medium access control for multimedia over wireless local area network and personal area network
    • Mobile content distribution networks
    • Mobility management for wireless multimedia
    • Software-radio-based techniques for multimedia communication
  • Quality of service in multimedia communications
    • Multimedia QoS support for wired and wireless networks
    • MAC protocols with multimedia QoS support in wireless networks
    • Transport/streaming protocols for end-to-end QoS support
    • Multimedia QoS in peer-to-peer and overlay networks
    • VoIP/RTC support in wireless multi-hop networks
  • Multimedia communications systems and applications
    • Online gaming (Service, architecture, protocol, and security)
    • Virtual home environment
    • Content distribution and web services (including media caching and replication)
    • Distributed services middleware and systems for multimedia communications (e.g. Open Service Interfaces)
    • Private or peer-to-peer network services for multimedia communications
    • Emerging trends, standards, applications, services, and field trials
  • Home networking and services for multimedia applications
    • Home networks protocols (WLAN, WiMax, UWB, ad-hoc, etc.) and architectures
    • WAN support of home networks
    • Wireless and wireline broadband multimedia access
    • TV-centric home networks, DTV, and home networked entertainment and games
    • Residential gateways, and home networked appliances for multimedia applications
    • Novel home networking multimedia applications and enabling technologies
    • Test Beds, trials and demonstrations

Technical Program Committee
Toufik Ahmed, University of Bordeaux-1 / CNRS-LaBRI, France
Alessandro Amoroso, University of Bologna, Italy
Luigi Atzori,
University of Cagliari, Italy
Spiridon Bakiras, The
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Chang Wen Chen, Florida Institute of Technology, USA
Jiancong Kent Chen, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Shuguang Robert Cui, Stanford University, USA
Christophe de Vleeschouwer, Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Kalva Hari, Florida Atlantic University, USA
Markus Kampmann, Ericsson Research, Germany
Andreas Kassler, Karlstad University, Sweden
Wuttipong Kumwilaisak, King Mongkut's University of Technology, Thailand
Zhu Li, Motorola Laboratories, USA
Maode Ma, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Shiwen Mao, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
Maja Matijasevic, University of Zagreb, Croatia Manuel Perez Malumbres, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Giovanni Pau, UCLA
Antonio Pescape', Universita' di Napoli "Federico II",
Marco Roccetti, University of Bologna, Italy
Dilip Sarkar,
University of Miami, USA
N. Taylor, Brigham Young University, USA
Olivier Verscheure, IBM Research, USA
Bin Wei, ATT Labs, USA
Steven Wright, Bellsouth, USA
Yang Xiao, University of Memphis
Kun Yang, University of Essex , UK
Yang Yang,
University College London , UK
Fan Zhai, Texas Instruments Inc, USA



Early Registration:
30 October

Hotel Reservation Deadline:
3 November