Intent to Participate




About the Conference
General Information
Events & Tours
Technical Symposia
Information for Authors/Speakers
Technical Symposia
Paper Submission
ACCESS '06 Executive
Business Forum
Design & Developers Forum
Tutorials and Workshops
Conference Program
Visa Assistance


World Class Solutions: Networking the Globe

Symposium Chair
Charalabos Skianis, NCSR 'Demokritos', Greece, skianis@iit.demokritos.gr

Symposium Vice-Chairs
Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute-Alsace, France, Lorenz@ieee.org
Spilios Makris, Telcordia Tech, smakris@telcordia.com
Jose-Marcos Nogueira, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil, jmarcos@dcc.ufmg.br

Throughout the communications and computer networks industry, networking the globe presents unique challenges and drives explosive changes in service offerings, network infrastructures, and product technologies.

This Symposium is a unique gathering opportunity for select industry executives, seasoned managers, expert researchers and senior subject matter experts from communication and computer network companies, research institutes, and the academia to discuss the requirements and steps necessary to build and operate a "Perfect Network". They will share experiences, plans, "do lists", and their vision to ensure a "Perfect Network" during an intense symposium of selected presentations and possible refreshing panel discussions.

Topics of Interest
The Symposium is devoted to presenting world class solutions on networking the globe. Contributions are solicited on (but not restricted to) the following subject categories:

•  Authentication, access and security
•  Information highways and Infrastructures
•  Network management systems
•  Services in the global era
•  Quality of Service
•  Performance, reliability, survivability and resilience
•  Pricing/cost for networking and telecommunication systems
•  World Class Events

Technical Program Committee

Toufik Ahmed, University of Bordeaux-1 / CNRS-LaBRI France
Ozgur Akan,
Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Antonio Alberti, National Inst. of Telecommunications, Brazil
Eitan Altman, INRIA, France
Maria Teresa Andrade,
Inesc Porto, Portugal
Irfan Awan, University of Bradford, UK
Frank Ball, Bournemouth University
, UK
Monique Becker, G.E.T./I.N.T., France
Paolo Bellavista, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Bologna, Italy
Nizar Bouabdallah, INRIA - Irisa , France
Chung-Ju Chang,
National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Prosper Chemouil, France Telecom R&D, France
Thomas Chen, Southern
Methodist University, USA
Adrian Conway, Verizon Laboratories, USA
Laurie Cuthbert, Queen Mary, University of London, UK
John Daigle, University of Mississippi, USA
Spyros Denazis, Hitachi Europe Ltd., France
Michael Devetsikiotis, North Carolina State University, USA
Christos Douligeris, University of Piraeus, Greece
Gorry Fairhurst,
University of Aberdeen, UK
Tony Field,
Imperial, UK
Anne Fladenmuller, University Paris 6 - LIP6, France
Marco Fratti, Motorola Laboratories,
Alex Galis,
Stefano Giordano, University of Pisa, Italy
Carlos Goular, Federal
University of Višosa, Brazil
Fabrizio Granelli, University of Trento, Italy
Lisandro Granville,
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean, Italy
Katherine Guo, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, USA
Stathes Hadjiefthymiades, University of Athens, Greece
Heikki Hammainen,
Helsinki University of Technology , Finland
Peter Harrison, Imperial College, UK
David Hutchison, Lancaster University, UK
Raj Jain, Ohio State University, USA
Andrzej Jajszczyk, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
Gabriel Jakobson, Smart Solutions Consulting, USA
Abbas Jamalipour, University of Sydney
, Australia
Krishna Kant, Intel Corporation,
Theo Kanter, Ericsson Research (EAB), Sweden
Helen Karatza, Aristotle University
of Thessaloniki , Greece
Sokratis Katsikas, University of the Aegean, Greece
William Knottenbelt,
Imperial College London, UK
Daniel Kofman, ENST-Telecom Paris, France
Kimon Kontovasilis, NCSR Demokritos, Greece
Georgios Kormentzas, University of the Aegean, Greece
Demetres D. Kouvatsos, University of Bradford
, UK

Nelson L. S. Da Fonseca, State University of Campinas, Brazil
Fotis Lazarakis, NCSR
Demokritos, Greece
Dave Lewis,
Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Ching-Yung Lin, IBM
Renato Lo Cigno, Universita` di Trento, Italy
Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute
Alsace,, France
Thomas Magedanz, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany
Ilias Maglogiannis,
University of Aegean, Greece
Spilios Makris, Telcordia Tech, USA
Ahmed Mehaoua, University of Versailles, France
Madjid Merabti, John
Moores University Liverpool , UK
Lazaros Merakos,
University of Athens, Greece
Nader Mir, San Jose State University, USA
Seshadri Mohan, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, USA
Marie-Jose Montpetit, Consultant, USA
Sean Moore, Avaya, USA
Agoulmine Nazim, University of Evry, France
Daniel Negru,
University of Versailles, France
JosÚ Marcos Nogueira, Federal
University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Satoru Okamoto, NTT, Japan
Cherkaoui Omar, University of Quebec in Montreal, Canada
Evangelos Pallis, Centre for Technological Research of Crete, Greece
Nikos Passas, University of Athens, Greece
Robert Paterson,
Nortel, Canada
Harry Perros, North Carolina State University , USA
Mohammad Peyravian, IBM Research Triangle Park
Ramjee Prasad, Aalborg University, Denmark
Guy Pujolle, University of Paris 6, France
Angelos Rouskas, University of the
Aegean, Greece
Linnyer Ruiz, Federal University of Minas Gerais
, Brazil
Aladdin Saleh,
Bell Canada, Canada
Aldri Santos, Federal
University of Cearß
, Brazil
Guenter Schaefer, Technische Universitaet Ilmenau, Germany
Anett Schuelke, NEC Network Laboratories Heidelberg, Germany
Caterina Scoglio, Kansas State University, USA
Charalabos Skianis, CSR 'Demokritos', Greece
Waleed Smari, University of Dayton , USA
John Soldatos, AIT, Greece
Martin Stiemerling, NEC Europe Ltd.,
Zhili Sun, University of Surrey, UK

Yutaka Takahashi,
Kyoto University, Japan
Do Van Thanh,
, Norway
Iakovos Venieris, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Dimitrios Vergados, University of the Aegean, Greece
Thomas Woo, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, USA
Theodore Zahariadis, Ellemedia Techn, Greece





Early Registration:
30 October

Hotel Reservation Deadline:
3 November