Intent to Participate




About the Conference
General Information
Events & Tours
Technical Symposia
Information for Authors/Speakers
Technical Symposia
Paper Submission
ACCESS '06 Executive
Business Forum
Design & Developers Forum
Tutorials and Workshops
Conference Program
Visa Assistance


Wireless Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks towards Anytime Anywhere Internetworking

Prof. Hussein Mouftah, Email: mouftah@site.uottawa.ca
Prof. Hossam Hassanein, hossam@cs.queensu.ca
Prof. Guoliang Xue, xue@asu.edu
Prof. Raouf Boutaba, rboutaba@uwaterloo.ca

Multi-hop wireless Ad Hoc and sensor networks are self-organizing systems formed by co-operating nodes within communication range of each other that form temporary networks. Ad hoc wireless networks allow anywhere, anytime network connectivity with complete lack of control, ownership, and regulatory influence. The last few years have witnessed a wealth of research ideas on ad hoc and sensor networks that are moving rapidly into commercialization and standardization. Such networks can be randomly and rapidly deployed and reconfigured and easily tailored to specific applications including civilian, military, entertainment, etc. Moreover, an ad hoc architecture is highly robust to node failure and can provide a high-level of fault tolerance due to nodal redundancy and its distributed nature. Furthermore, energy efficiency can be achieved through multi-hop routing communication. Bandwidth reuse can also benefit from dividing the single long range hop to multiple short hops with each hop having a shorter range. Several challenges face are standing in the way to achieving ubiquitous deployment of ad hoc and sensor networks. These include variable topology, device heterogeneity, limited power supply and the lack of effective energy-efficient design, lack of QoS and application support, etc.
This symposium aims at providing a forum for sharing ideas among researchers and practitioners working on state-of-the-art solutions to the challenges above. We are seeking papers that describe original and unpublished contributions addressing various aspects of ad hoc and sensor networks.

Topics of Interest:
• Algorithms and modeling for mobile user localization and target tracking
• Analytical, mobility and validation models for ad hoc networks
• Applications and evolutions of Ad hoc and sensor networks
• Architectures of wireless communication and mobile computing
• Co-existence issues of hybrid networks
• Cross-layer design and interactions
• Cryptography and security issues in ad hoc and sensor networks
• Data management, data aggregation, data dissemination, and query processing
• Distributed algorithms
• Frequency and channel allocation algorithms
• IEEE 802.11 and Bluetooth based medium access control
• MAC protocols for ad hoc and sensor networks
• Mobile service and QoS management
• Performance evaluation and modeling of mobile and ad hoc networks
• Pervasive and wearable computing
• Physical layer design of ad hoc networks
• Power control protocols for ad hoc and sensor networks
• Pricing modeling and solutions
• QoS provisioning in medium access control and routing
• Resource management algorithms in mobile, wireless and ad-hoc networks
• RF channel capacity modeling and analysis
• Security and privacy issues
• Service discovery
• Simulation and measurement based evaluation of ad hoc and sensor
• Survivability and reliability evaluation and modeling
• Synchronization and scheduling in mobile and ad hoc networks systems
• Topology control and management
• Ubiquitous and mobile access
• Wireless, ad hoc and sensor devices
• Wireless PANs, LANs

Homepage: http://surnet01.eas.asu.edu/~xue/Globecom06-SensorNet/

Technical Program Committee

Tarek F. Abdelzaher, University of Virginia  
Ozgr B. Akan,
Middle East Technical University  
Marcelo Amorim, LIP6 - UPMC - CNRS 
Mohammed Atiquzzaman,
University of Oklahoma  
Stefano Basagni, Northeastern University  
Brahim Bensaou, HKUST,
Hong Kong  
Luciano Bononi, University of Bologna  
Azzedine Boukerche,
University of Ottawa  
Torsten Braun,
University of Berne
Nirupama Bulusu,
Portland State University  
Krishnendu Chakrabarty,
Duke University  
Surendar Chandra,
University of Notre Dame 
H-H. Chen, National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan  
Maggie Cheng, University of Missouri  
Xiuzhen Cheng, George
Washington University  
Soumaya Cherkaoui,
University of Sherbrooke  
Sunghyun Choi,
Seoul National University  
Chun Tung Chou,
University of New South Wales  
Song Ci, UMass Boston 
Thomas Clausen, INRIA 
Jorge Cobb, UT Dallas 
Marco Conti, IIT Institute - CNR
Shuguang Cui, University of Arizona  
Sajal Das,
University of  Texas at Arlington  
Arjan Durresi, Louisiana State University 
Eylem Ekici, Ohio State University 
Tamer ElBatt, HRL Laboratories  
Ehab Elmallah,
University of Alberta  
Guangbin Fan, Intel Research,
Matthias Frank,
University of Bonn  
Martin Haenggi, University of Notre Dame 
Sanjay Jha,
University of New South Wales  
Xiaohua Jia,
City University of Hong Kong  
Vana Kalogeraki,
University of California, Riverside  
Ahmed Kamal,
Iowa State University  
Holger Karl, Unviersitat of
Rajeev Koodl,
Nokia Research Center  
Ibrahim Korpeoglu, Bilkent University 
P.R. Kumar, UIUC 
Srisankar Kunniyur, University of Pennsylvania  
Houda Labiod, ENST, France  
Baochun Li,
University of Toronto  
Qun Li, College of William and Mary 
Wei Li,
University of Toledo  
Xiang-Yang Li, Illinois Institute of Technology 
Ben Liang,
University of Toronto  
Mingyan Liu, University of Michigan  
Errol Lloyd,
University of Delaware  
Wenjing Lou, Worcester Polytechnic Institute 
Chenyang Lu, Washington University at St Louis  
Peter Martini,
University of Bonn  
Seapahn Megerian,
University of Wisconsin , Madison  
Ahmed Mehaoua, PRiSM Laboratory 
Jelena Misic,
University of Manitoba  
Nader Moayeri , National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 
Tim Moors,
University of New South Wales  
Farid Nait-Abdesselam, University of Sciences and Technologies of Lille, France  
Ioanis Nikolaidis, University of Alberta  
Katia Obraczka, University of California at Santa Cruz  
Stephan Olariu,
Dominion University  
Elena Pagani, University of Milano  
Jianping Pan,
University of Victoria  
Chiara Petrioli, University of  Roma I  
Parmesh Ramanathan,
University of Wisconsin at Madison  
Srini Ramasubramanian, University of Arizona  
Jason Redi, BBN Technologies 
Martin Reisslein,
Arizona State University  
Ebrahim Saberinia, University of Nevada, Las Vegas Min Song, Old Dominion University  
Wenzhan Song, Washington State University  
Sanjay Shakkottai, University of Texas at Austin  
Sherman Shen, University of Waterloo  
Suresh Singh,
Portland State University  
Sivalingam, University
of Maryland , Baltimore County  
Ivan Stojmenovic, University of Ottawa
Violet Syrotiuk, Arizona State University
Glen Takahara, Queen's University 
Jian Tang, Arizona
State University 
Wenye Wang, North Carolina State University 
Yu Wang,
University of North Carolina at Charlotte  
Cedric Westphal,
Research Center  
Vincent Wong,
University of British Columbia  
Kui Wu, University of Victoria  
Yang Xiao, The University of Memphis  
Yuan Xue, Vanderbilt University  
Mohamed Younis, University of Maryland Baltimore County   
Moustafa Youssef,
University of Maryland, College Park  
Thomas Zahn, Freie Universitšt
Baoxian Zhang,
University of Ottawa  
Beichuan Zhang,
University of Arizona  
Junshan Zhang, Arizona State University 
Qian Zhang, HKUST, Hong Kong  
Jun Zheng, University of Ottawa  
Michele Zorzi, Univ. di Padova , Italy  




Early Registration:
30 October

Hotel Reservation Deadline:
3 November