Intent to Participate




About the Conference
General Information
Events & Tours
Technical Symposia
Information for Authors/Speakers
Technical Symposia
Paper Submission
ACCESS '06 Executive
Business Forum
Design & Developers Forum
Tutorials and Workshops
Conference Program
Visa Assistance


Quality, Reliability, and Performance Modeling for Emerging Network Services

Symposium Co-Chairs
Michael Devetsikiotis, North Carolina State University, U.S.A., mdevets@ncsu.edu
Algirdas Pakstas, a.pakstas@londonmet.ac.uk
Hiromi UEDA, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan, ueda@cs.teu.ac.jp

This symposium emphasizes the design, resource allocation and performance evaluation advances required in order to deliver the expected high quality and reliability of emerging network services. The symposium will provide an international technical forum for experts from industry and academia to exchange ideas and present results of ongoing research on the challenging issues related to the requirements, metrics, measurement, management, and dissemination, as well as performance modeling for the emerging era of network services. For details about submission deadline, paper format, and on-line submission procedures, please see the main GLOBECOM 2006 page . Authors should include one of the topics-of-interest below when submitting a paper.

Topics of Interest
•  Application Oriented Networking
•  Qos in Multimedia Networks, Voice over IP
•  Quality and Scalability in the Internet and Web-based services
•  Quality and Performance in Autonomic Systems
•  Performance and Quality in Grid and Distributed Computing
•  Design and Performance of Service Intermediaries
•  Quality and resource allocation for network services, VPN, WeB
•  QoS for Wireless Networks including Mobile and Ad Hoc Networks
•  QoS Aspects for PSTN /IP-NW Interworking
•  Standardization Aspects of QoS and Reliability
•  Traffic and Workload Modeling and Characterization
•  Traffic and Workload Control
•  General Performance Modeling
•  Network Services Design
•  Network Simulation Techniques
•  Measurement Techniques

Technical Program Committee 

Ahmet Akyamac, Bell Labs - Lucent Technologies
Koichi Asatani, Kogakuin University
Yoshihiro Ashi, Hitachi Communication Technologies, Ltd.
Albert Banchs, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Javier Barria, Imperial College London
Torsten Braun, University of Berne
Chi-Ming Chen, AT&T
Gerard Damm, Alcatel
Michael Devetsikiotis, North Carolina State University
Matthias Falkner, Cisco
Stefano Giordano, University of Pisa
Fabrizio Granelli, University of Trento
Hiroaki Harai, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology
Go Hasegawa, Osaka University
Tohru Hoshi, Tokyo University of Technology
Changcheng Huang, Carleton University
Tomohiro Ishihara, Fujitsu
Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
George Kesidis, Pennsylvania State University
Gerasimos Klaoudatos, Nakina Systems
Aleksandar Kolarov, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Nelson L. S. da Fonseca, State University of Campinas
Georgios Lazarou, Mississippi State University
Kenichi Mase, Niigata University
Ashraf Matrawy, Carleton University
Michael Menth, University of Wuerzburg





































































































































































































































































































George Michailidis, University of Michigan
Hiroyuki Morikawa, The University of Tokyo
Kurenai Murakami, NEC Corporation
Tutomu Murase, NEC Corp.
Hajime Nakamura, KDDI R&D Laboratories Inc.
Hidenori Nakazato, Waseda University
Ioanis Nikolaidis, University of Alberta
Kimio Oguchi, Seikei University
Harry Perros, North Carolina State University
Juergen Quittek, NEC Europe Ltd
Andrew Rindos, IBM
Adolfo Rodriguez, IBM, Duke University
Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras
Dan Keun, Sung Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Takao Tashiro, O F Networks
Toshinori Tsuboi, Tokyo University of Technology
Hiromi Ueda, Tokyo Univeisity of Technology
Yannis Viniotis, North Carolina State University
Naoki Wakamiya, Osaka University
Kazuji Watanabe, NTT
Steven Wright, BellSouth
Lisong Xu, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Katsunori Yamaoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Tatsuya Yamazaki, National Institute of Information Communications Technology
Tetsuya Yokotani, Mitsubishi Electric Corp.
Hideaki Yoshino, NTT


Early Registration:
30 October

Hotel Reservation Deadline:
3 November